Centre Awards

These are our ‘Major Centre Awards’ which are presented to athletes during the Centre Presentation Day each season.

Spirit of Little Athletics Award

The Spirit of Little Athletics Award is an annual award presented to the athlete who is considered to best demonstrate the qualities outlined below. Any athlete can be nominated to receive the Award and the Committee will determine the individual athlete who best meets the criteria.

  • True Sportsmanship
  • 100% effort at all times
  • Rarely misses a Friday competition night at Quakers Hill LAs
  • May have represented QHLAC in the Zone or other competitions
  • Regularly attends Training nights
  • Competes in all events and strives to do their best
  • Always competes fairly and in the best interests of the LAs
  • Is courteous, well mannered and polite to fellow athletes, the Age Manager and other parents
  • Respects and accepts any judgements or decisions made by the Age Manager or other Officials; and
  • Is a role model for other children in the group and the club, someone the other children look up to for inspiration and motivation
Season Winner
1993-1994 Dean Spackman
1994-1995 Chris Grima
1995-1996 Elisabeth Owens
1996-1997 Karen McEvoy
1997-1998 Tanya Camilleri
1998-1999 Brendan Burton
1999-2000 Emiyu Park
2000-2001 Vibhav Shirali
2001-2002 Isobel Hazell
2002-2003 Samantha Sahni
2003-2004 Elizabeth Nguyen
2004-2005 Prishen Naidoo
2005-2006 Zoe Victoria
2006-2007 Teagan Burton
2007-2008 Natalie Mangion
2008-2009 Matt Elliott
2009-2010 Courtney Turner – Seymour
2010-2011 James Bergamin
2011-2012 Alexander Thompson
2012-2013 Emma Vandermeel
2013-2014 Christopher Wicks
2014-2015 Joshua Hinzmann
2015-2016 Luis IV Magsanoc
2016-2017 Tim Leask
2017-2018 Abi Thompson
2018-2019 Zsofia Varga-Strike
2019-2020 Chloe Kennedy
2020-2021 Emma Hoskins
2021-2022 Matilda Oxley
2022-2023 Matilda Olson

Centre Champion Award

The Centre Champion award is awarded to the athlete who attains the highest results through the Zone, Region and State Championships. For the 2014/15 Season a new award system was put in place to allocate points through these championships events.

Therefore, if an athlete performs consistently in a number of events across all the Championship levels this will be reflected in the number of points they will receive. The points start at 12 for 1st in the Zone, followed by 10 for 2nd, 3rd-8, 4th-6, 5th-5, 6th-4, 7th-3, 8th-2, to 1 for participating and completing in an event. For the region, these points have a weighting of 1.5 and for the State a weighting of 2. To be eligible for these awards you must have attended at least 60% of the Friday running nights for the season. If the highest scoring athlete fails to qualify for State Championships, and another athlete finishes in top 3 in an event at State Championships, then this will nullify the points total.

Points Champion Award

Introduced in the 2020-2021 season, the Points Champion award is awarded on the same points score method to determine each age group Champion. Each age champion has their points divided by total number of their available events to determine the highest average point scorer of all age groups in their category. 

Both Centre Champion and Points Champion awards are now presented to athletes in the Junior and Senior categories;

Junior Champion – 7-12 years
Senior Champion- 13-17 years

Season Centre Champion Senior Centre Champion Junior Centre Champion Senior Points Champion Junior Points Champion
1993-1994 Emma Gilbert
1994-1995 Emma Gilbert
1995-1996 Sam Kirby
1996-1997 Sam Kirby
1997-1998 Scott Burns
1998-1999 Sarah Mackney
1999-2000 Satwinder Dhaliwal
2000-2001 Gerard McCallum
2001-2002 Julian Rojas
2002-2003 Ashley Hanly
2003-2004 Sarpong Kwakwa
2004-2005 Dilshen Mooneesamy
2005-2006 Dilshen Mooneesamy
2006-2007 Tyler Sparks
2007-2008 Tyler Sparks
2008-2009 Tyler Sparks
2009-2010 Lauren Berwick
2010-2011 Tim Simmons
2011-2012 Tim Simmons
2012-2013 Alexander Thompson
2013-2014 Alexander Thompson
2014-2015 Alexander Thompson Peter Elliott
2015-2016 Alexander Thompson Peter Elliott
2016-2017 Mitchell Fraser Peter Elliott
2017-2018 Mitchell Fraser Tia Matthews
2018-2019 Chloe Kennedy Thomas Varga-Strike
2019-2020 Jamie Kennedy Mia Robson
2020-2021 Isaac Beacroft Jeremiah-Xyndel Tatupu Matilda Olson Lilly Huang
2021-2022 Isaac Beacroft Jeremiah-Xyndel Tatupu Matilda Olson Amelia Oxley
2022-2023 Brayden Doran Amelia Oxley Matilda Olson Indiana Fabrellas


Star Awards

Star Awards

The STAR AWARDS system provides athletes with goals to aim for during the season based on well-developed performance standards. It also rewards athletes for their attendance, improvement and achievement. Athletes may obtain up to five Stars in a season. The Stars may be displayed on their Centre Uniform….

More Info
Boys Star Award Achievment
Girls Star Award Achievement

Below is a list of the STARS athletes have achieved. Be sure to keep on claiming your awards and look to find your name on the Achievement list.